Faar Filly: The Great Tummy Ache

So like I was saying in the last post, Miss Faar colicked pretty badly last week.  Our weather here has been pretty chilly at night and high 90’s during the day and insane humidity. I went out to feed for the day earlier than usual because I had clients scheduled early that day. At about 5am I walked out and saw Faar laying on her side and I instantly knew something was wrong. She doesn’t do that until the sun is up and she always lays in one spot. I walked out to her and she wouldn’t even lift her head. I finally rocked and hassled her enough to get her up and check her quadrants and she had no noise, not even gas colic pinging. Her heart rate was elevated from what it usually is but her gum color was still good. So I walked her back to the house and got to work on her.

I gave her Banamine and kept her up. Then after a discussion with my husband and my vet I decided that I would not be pursuing any kind of colic surgery on an 18-month-old so I went ahead and tubed her with mineral oil. My husband walked her around and pushed the kiddo in his stroller while I went inside and gathered my equipment so I could start fluid therapy. In the few minutes I took inside she had started passing gas and developed some gut noises in certain quadrants. I went ahead and opted to do fluids and about 15 minutes later she pooped. Yay!

Faar is doing great now. She has lost a little weight from the ordeal. She is a high energy horse and eats quite a bit to meet her energy and growth needs but I kept her off of feed for several days. So she only had hay, beet pulp, alfalfa pellets, and a vitamin-mineral supplement. In addition to a sand purge and electrolytes.

I have purposely left out amounts, stats, and numbers. If your horse is suffering from colic, call your vet. If you can handle it yourself then you will already know numbers, dosage, and vitals. Of course, there are no pictures. When you are working on your 18-month-old Arabian with no help because the Hubs is tending your wee one you don’t even think of pictures haha. I will say that now she is even sweeter and easier to catch even though I was “mean” to her and poked, prodded, and hassled her. Not to mention she wasn’t thrilled when I expected her to tolerate a tube up the old snout without sedation. 😛

20170307_142612

I have officially decided to downsize and slow down. At the risk of sounding spoiled, I want to work on my own horses and enjoy time with my son. Right now, I have spread myself a little thin with all of the client work and our farm. I have all but one cow sold and she will be our family milk cow. We are hauling the rest to Alabama this weekend. The dairy goats are leaving this weekend. V the blue roan filly is sold and leaving this weekend to grow up and be an excellent cow horse. I am contemplating selling the sheep and I have until June 1st to decide. We are going to continue farming but on a more personal gain basis. We will basically just be doing it to have our own high-quality food. Later as the Little One gets older I can scale back up.  As far as clients go, I have officially turned down offers to compete, train, and campaign a few horses. I don’t know how I feel ethically about disclosing why I chose to turn them down so I will leave it for now**. I am going to continue trimming and my Repro work with current clients. We will see about accepting new clients.

**I have so many good stories I am withholding, though. I just don’t know how to share and be sure to keep it anonymous. For example, most of the stories involve horses owned by people who make a living off of these animals. Like breeders and their stallions or just other breeders who I have done riding for. In the last month, I have ridden a horse who is a ninny/runaway/can’t walk a straight line expected to go training level this fall and prelim in the spring. The owner can only afford to have me come ride him one day a week and cannot send him for training. Not to mention this horse has the athleticism of an aardvark and is also a “color” sire who is heterozygous(pointless). Don’t worry the owner has an animal communicator. Or the horse I rode for a sale video priced at 35k that had to be sedated in order to saddle it. What about the “Highly Paid Professional Expert In Equine Repro” I am working with who doesn’t know the basics of chemical collection? That is literally just this month. Not even an exaggeration. ;-P So I think I will maybe start with some fun things that are a few years old and make them completely anonymous and hopefully that won’t push any boundaries.

2 thoughts on “Faar Filly: The Great Tummy Ache

    • I completely agree. He’s just 9 months old and it seems like only a few months have gone by. That may related to the sleep deprivation but it has flown by already.

      Like

Leave a Reply

