Raining, Conditioning, Maintenance, and More Fat Loot.

I have been making a solid effort to pare down my farming and work activities so that I can focus more on my horse. I have sold all but one heifer that will be kept as the family milk cow. I bought a bull for her and he will be shipped in hopefully later this week. I sold all of my sheep and kept one lamb ram for meat after he gets bigger. I’m down to four chickens. I need to get more layers and some meat birds. Most of my garden is failing miserably because of the sudden excessive rain here. I can’t complain about the rain though. the grass is growing and my hay bill is no longer $175 a week. A freaking week people. Dear God. We have 15 acres and I was still buying hay because the grass wasn’t growing. It was awful.

 

20170607_134102.jpg

The Rain.

 

I have been attempting to condition but the rain makes me whiny and the humidity, when it isn’t raining, is killer. I’m going to have to start conditioning rain or shine I guess. Being cooped up because of the rain has caused me to order All The Things.

 

20170605_170943.jpg

All The Things.

 

New halter, lead rope, Stowaway packs, liniment, poultice, electrolytes(so we can start experimenting with the heavily muscled beast), a new Happy Mouth double jointed roller elevator bit, new hay nets, 10′ yacht rope reins, and a rein safe. I also got a Toklat Coolback contoured endurance pad in PURPLE but it’s back ordered and will hopefully ship tomorrow. This is what happens when it rains and Riding Warehouse has a 20% off sale. :/ So I am slowly collecting all of the things Rev will need for endurance.

 

20170606_094012

Watching the rain.

 

The bit was on sale on sale and I feel like something stronger than an S-Hack or full cheek snaffle will help us be more successful at the first ride start. He may be totally fine. In that case, I don’t have to touch his mouth. He may turn into a fire breathing dragon and in that case, the bit is better safe than sorry. We can always switch out at the first check which is what I will be hoping to do. So we will definitely be practicing with the hack and the bit. Now I think all that I have left for him are his bridle, extra bit hangers, breastplate, and new stirrups with cages. I may possibly change over to leathers but I’m not sure yet.

There is also hopefully going to be another Exciting New Thing tomorrow. Well, I guess it’s not really a surprise anymore when I say there will be an exciting new Thing. So it’s obviously a horse. I am going to see him and pick him up tomorrow morning. I will hopefully remember to take exciting pictures.

2 thoughts on “Raining, Conditioning, Maintenance, and More Fat Loot.

    • Me too! I always enjoy seeing what other people get and where and how much. 😉I got all of that on sale or I wouldn’t have bought it lol. It kills me to pay full price. Everything including the Coolback was like $258. So not too terrible. I’m still hemming and hawing on getting the bridle and breastplate because I have so many good leather ones, but they are hard to clean. Mostly though, they just aren’t purple haha.
      The exciting new thing will need tack too. Uuugggghhhh. 😑

      Like

Leave a Reply

